Bellis Brothers Farm Shop and Garden Centre
Business Address: Bellis Brothers Farm Shop and Garden Centre, Wrexham Road Farm, Wrexham Road, Holt Village, Wrexham LL13 9YU
Business Email: Send message
About Bellis Brothers Farm Shop and Garden Centre
We are an independently run family business located in the beautiful Dee Valley on the outskirts of Holt village near Wrexham, North Wales.
We boast a unique shopping experience including a recently opened butchers and deli in our delightful farm shop, set in delightful surroundings. We pride ourselves on our team of friendly staff.
Bellis Brothers was established in 1860, we began by growing fresh fruit and vegetables for market in the Midlands and North West. Since then we have diversified into an extensive Farm Shop, Garden Centre, Gift Shop and Restaurant. In the summer months Pick Your Own is also available making us the perfect destination for a day out. We still remain a working market gardening farm and take great pride in supplying our customers with fresh fruit and vegetables from field to shop in a matter of minutes and with zero food miles!
In 1860, Charles Bellis bought and planted a strawberry called Black Prince, a dark and very sweet berry. Runners from this original plant became the start of strawberry growing in Holt.
Eighteen years on, in 1878, the Bellis family bought Wrexham Road Farm (the site of today’s Farm, Garden Centre and Farm Shop).
In 1883, accommodation was built for strawberry pickers on what was known as ‘Charlies Yard’ – this is now known as the ‘Top Yard’. Two years later, it was agreed to plant the strawberries in rows – a yard apart. This system was found to be much more economical.
When the war ended, the family continued farming, growing fruit and vegetables and planting orchards. Beef and dairy herds were established and more farms purchased – but we continued to be famous for our strawberries!
In 1973, we built a small farm shop (resembling a double garage!) in order to sell produce grown from our fields. However, it soon became apparent that it was far too small and the first extension got underway in April 1976.
The biggest extension happened in 1986 which included a Garden Centre and small Restaurant. Four extensions later, we now arrive at the superb Farm Shop and Garden Centre we have today.